DCs Second Wave

DC announced on Thursday that it will be releasing it’s “Second Wave” of #1’s starting in May. It does come at a cost, although in my opinion not a very high one. DC will be introducing 6 new series, and canceling six of the current series.

The following issues will end after issue #8 comes out in April; Blackhawks, Hawk and Dove(sorry James), Men of War, Mister Terrific, O.M.A.C., and Static Shock. I liked what I read of Hawk and Dove, I didn’t read any of the others(neither did anyone else, I guess). They will be replaced by the following #1’s starting in May; Batman INC, Earth 2, World’s Finest, Dial H, G.I. Combat, and The Ravagers. It seems like more than a fair trade.

I am not really going to miss any of the canceled series. However, I am pretty excited about several of the new books;

Batman Inc. This is going to be written by Grant Morrison. I like much of his previous work and I like the idea of reading about the extended Bat-Family. I mean after the events of Batman and Robin Moscow needs a new one. Really looking forward to this one.

Earth 2. The JSA, finally. I have been a big JSA fan for years. This will take place on a parallel Earth. There has been no official word on the line-up. DC certainly has a large roster to choose from. I am hoping for them to have Jay, Ted, and Allan be the older members teaching the younger guys. I would like to see Sand, Damage, Dr Fate, Hourman(Rick, or Tyler could be fun), Liberty Belle, and Stargirl. This is probably the book I am most looking forward to of the new books.

World’s Finest. Power Girl and Huntress sounds like a great team up for me. Although DC did say it is the Earth 2 Huntress I am not sure if it will be Helena Wayne. Either way this book sounds like a great idea to me and well worth canceling Static Shock.

Dial H. It is about the psychological effects on an everyman who accidentally gains powers to become a hero. This sounds like it could be interesting. I will at least pick up the #1.

G.I. Combat. This one will feature a rotating list of back up stories by various creative teams. Doesn’t sound like something I’ll be following, but that doesn’t mean it won’t be good. I might pick up the #1 just to see.

The Ravagers. A spin off of Superboy and Teen Titans. It is about a group of teen superheroes that are trying to avoid being captured and corrupted by a mysterious organization. I’m sorry, isn’t that the Teen Titans? This one is at the bottom of my list of the “Second Wave”. IF I pick it up it will be because I want to review the #1’s of the entire “Second Wave”.

Overall, this is a positive move for DC. They did say that the characters from the canceled books will still appear in other DC titles(See James, you can still see Dove in JLD)

2 Responses to “DCs Second Wave”

  1. Another series you seem not to have read is Grifter. You should give it a shot: it is objectively one of the best New 52 comics.

Leave a Reply

