Review of Marvel’s The Avengers

“There was an idea to bring together a group of remarkable people, so when we needed them, they could fight the battles that we never could.”

***Contains Spoilers***

I went with some friends to see the Avengers, Friday night. It was awesome. I have never really been into the Avengers comics. I saw them in crossovers in Spider-Man and X-Men, back when I read those titles. I didn’t dislike them, I just never got into them. I have liked all of the solo movies(Incredible Hulk, Iron Man I&II, Thor and Captain America).

I was very excited to see this movie for several reasons;

#1) Joss Whedon. He directed and worked on the screenplay for The Avengers movie. In case you don’t know who Joss Whedon is, he is the mind behind such television shows as Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Dollhouse and Firefly. He also worked on the screenplays for Toy Story, Atlantis: The Lost Empire and Titan A.E. He has also done some writing for Marvel comics(Astonishing X-men and the Civil War crossover to name a couple). So, having him involved let me know this would be good. Who knows what geeks want better than a fellow geek?

#2) This sort of thing has never been done before. Planned trilogies happen all the time. It is nothing rare to make one movie with the intention of continuing the story in another. What Marvel did was different. They released movies about four different characters and put in just enough to connect them. They were in and of themselves stand alone movies. For example my kids have not seen Iron Man but they easily enjoyed Thor and Captain America. Then comes the big move, making a movie that combines the main and supporting characters from these other movies and making one BIG movie. This means that they did not have to spend an hour of the movie explaining who the characters were and what their origins were.

#3) It’s a movie Crossover. I, like my brother, love team books. Why? because instead of reading about one awesome hero I get to read about several(for the same price). I also love a good crossover. It’s like a rock festival. I would happily go see Ozzy by himself, but if Tool and Rob Zombie and a dozen other bands are going to be there too it is even better. It was a risky move on Marvel’s behalf, but they pulled it off.

The movie had everything I wanted in a movie crossover. It had many intense action sequences, not just between Loki and the Chiauri(evil aliens) but between the heroes themselves. It is hard to pick my favorite, although Thor vs Iron Man and Captain America would definitely be a major contender. Also the movie had great banter, which to me is essential to a good comic book story.

Despite what James thinks I loved the Hulk versus Loki fight(if you want to call it a fight). We could argue back and forth, but Hulk did not take Loki out for good, he just stunned him. I just loved how Hulk Grabbed him mid-monologue and took Loki completely by surprise.

This movie had a great blend of comedy, action and suspense. It was visually amazing. I did not see it in 3-d and it was still a visually beautiful movie(having Scarlet Johansson, Cobie Smulders and Gweneth Paltrow didn’t hurt). If you are an Avengers fan you must see this movie. However if you are just a fan of good action movies or like other super hero movies this is something you should check out. OH, and stay until the credits are over if you want to see what they could do with Avengers 2.

Leave a Reply

