Balancing the scales: A review of Indestructible Hulk #1

I want to say this now, I have never really been much of a fan of the Hulk. Granted I never knew a lot about the Hulk apart from he was a giant rage monster. But I start to come around when the story has more Bruce Banner and the Hulk, two halves to one person. And that is what really gets me excited about this comic. When I first choose to pick it up I didn’t think I would do a full review. However only after I few pages I knew I would enjoy this one.

Post contains spoilers

So last I saw of Hulk was the end of AvX when Captain America asks him to come along to try to end the fighting. It has been about a month since then and the Hulk has been seen. This has Maria Hill and many others on edge. She has been trying to track down Banner but no one has any idea where he is. I mean it is not like he is going to just walk up to Maria Hill while she is having lunch and talk to her. Well actually that is what happens.

While she is getting ready for another mission Banner walks right up to her and starts talking. For the past month Banner has been off thinking and trying to find a way to cure himself. This has been his mission since he first became the Hulk. But things are different now. While he is one of the greatest minds on the planet, what he is known for is being the Hulk. Banner wants to be remembered for his mind. To do that he has to finally accept something. As far as science and technology goes, there is no cure for him.

Since he has come to terms with that he can finally move forward and really start to help the world. There are two major things to his plan. Learn to manage the Hulk and spend more time as Banner helping the world with his mind. Now he has come to Maria to make this offer to S.H.I.E.L.D. With their backing he can work harder and faster. Plus they can stop thinking of the Hulk as a bomb and more as a canon.

I have to say Banner has some balls. He comes in and places this bombshell of an offer in Maria Hill’s lap and then blackmails her should something happen to him. He knows that she has other plans in this town and is willing to help them out just to show them that they can use him. He will help S.H.I.E.L.D. stop the Mad Thinker and show her that there is much more to Bruce Banner.

Maria lets him show them his handy work and charges in and destroys what the Mad Thinker had been working on. Like many before he thought he could defeat the Hulk and he failed hard. In the end even with his mind he could not calculate the Hulk’s strength and his armor is ripped apart. After seeing this, Maria decides to take Banner on his offer. She rather have him working with them than against them. So here is a new age for Bruce Banner. I wonder how long it will be before Red and Green go on a mission together.

So I have to say I really enjoyed this comics a lot more than I ever though I would. I almost didn’t read it just because I never really cared for the Hulk. But I am very interested to see what Banner brings to the table and how he will interact with the rest of S.H.I.E.L.D. and the Avengers.

2 Responses to “Balancing the scales: A review of Indestructible Hulk #1”

  1. Actually, Benner stopped looking for a cure years ago. The ending of the last Hulk series had him and Hulk bonding and coming to terms with each other.

    • Thanks for the info. Like I said my knowledge of Hulk history is little to none. The way they had it in the issue made it seem that Banner had only just come to terms with things.

Leave a Reply

