Everything I expected: A review of the Hobbit

Possibly one of the biggest and most waited movies of this year came out just yesterday! That is right boys and girls, you can now go see the Hobbit! Granted it is the first part of three, it is still an amazing movie and about three hours long with previews.

Hobbit-An-Unexpected-Journey-The-poster

Post contains spoilers

Now before I get into what I really thought about and enjoyed about this I want to point out some amazing about this movie. The Hobbit itself is not a long book. Even my large print version has less than 500 pages. So you might wonder how on earth the movie would be split into three parts. But let me tell you, I am glad this happened. I know a lot of people out there say they would have watched movies like Harry Potter or the Lord of the Rings movies if they were 9-10 hours long just to see everything in the book. Now one movie that long is a bit much, even if you wanted to see it. But with the Hobbit you don’t need that. We looked in my copy and An Unexpected Journey is about a third of the book.

What really stood out to me about this is that with movies like Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings, you had people saying, “I wish this scene had been in the movies” And even sometimes you got scenes that never happened. With the Hobbit you get the whole story plus more. We weren’t wishing that they had included something, we were talking about how cool the additional scenes were. Now lets talk about the movies.

It has been a long while since I have actually read the story but I have read it in the past. As far as I can tell the movies gives you that plus some. It is just what you would expect given the success of the Lord of the Rings movies. Again the movies itself looks wonderful and breath taking. Martin Freeman does a fantastic job as Bilbo. I have already seen the movie twice and I can easily say it is just as good the second time around.

Most of what I have heard is praise of the movie, I mean I don’t know how you could not enjoy this movie. I do have one friend of mine who heard otherwise. Some people he knows said it wasn’t that great. Well I am here to tell you that those people are stupid and wrong and don’t know anything.

This movie is absolutely amazing in all aspect. People of all ages should see it. It might be scary for some young children but trust me, apart from fantasy violence, there is no reason you can’t take your kids. I mean we took my 10-year-old nephew and his mom never lets him see anything fun. So if he can see it I am sure your kids can too.

So if you enjoyed the Lord of the Rings movies, enjoyed the Lord of the Rings books, enjoyed the Hobbit book, well actually if you like anything and want to go see a good movie that is worth your time and money, go see the Hobbit!

One Response to “Everything I expected: A review of the Hobbit”

  1. I like how Owen sets the bar for what is appropriate for all kids to see.

Leave a Reply

